Sweet & Simple Chili – Family Recipe

Serves: Up to 12
Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cook Time: 15 – 20 minutes

I would like to say, for the record that this recipe has not been revealed to anyone outside of my family before. This sweet chili recipe was created by my grandmother on my father’s side. My grandmother passed away before I was born so I never got to see the master in the making. I eventually learned this recipe from watching my father mostly cooking it on some cold winter nights. From the first time watching my father cook sweet chili about 6 years ago I didn’t know how to exactly prepare and put together everything. It’s taken me since then to figure out the right proportions and mixtures.

I remember eating it as a kid loving it and I still do. As a sibling of 6, I grew up eating meals that were prepared in large quantities along with the sweet chili. To this day I still make this recipe in large quantities and save leftovers for later.

Sweet & Simple Chili Family Recipe

1lb.  Ground beef

2 – 5oz. cans of Luck’s pinto beans (drained and fat chunk removed)

2 – 29oz. cans of Hunt’s tomato sauce

1 box of spaghetti noodles (noodles broke into 3rd’s)

1 cup of Heinz ketchup (substitute = 3 capfuls of white vinegar)

1 ¼ cups of sugar

1/3 cup of chili powder

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 table spoon of dried minced onion

8 cups of water

Salt & Pepper

Medium sized pan

Large size pot

  •   In a large sized pot, start to boil water to cook noodles.  Add noodles to water when pot comes to a boil.
  •  While the water boils, in the medium sized pan, turn to medium heat and add oil. Spread oil around and then add the dried minced onions.
  •  Cook onions until clear.
  •  Add the ground beef to the medium pan and brown. Turn off heat. Drain. Set aside.
  •   Lower heat for the pot to medium.
  •   Drain noodles. Bring back to stove.
  •    Add tomato sauce, pinto beans, ground beef with minced onions, sugar, ketchup ( or vinegar),  chili powder, and a few pinches of salt and pepper.
  •   Stir well.  Let it set on medium until hot. Turn off heat.
  •    Serve and enjoy!

(Add crushed saltine crackers on top or serve on side.)

Leave a Reply

